Automobile insurance policies issued in New Hampshire offer coverage known as medical payment coverage. For a minimal premium, you can purchase coverage up to a limit of your choice (usually between $1,000 and $10,000) which will pay medical bills for any occupant of your insured vehicle sustained in an auto accident. This is essentially New Hampshire’s version of no-fault coverage, with the advantage being that there is no subrogation or “payback” if you choose to bring a third party claim or lawsuit against the negligent driver responsible for the accident. It is recommended that drivers purchase this coverage with limits of at least $5,000.00. This coverage will not only provide payment of medical bills for treatment not covered by your health insurance, but will also cover deductibles, co-pays, and treatment by doctors outside your health policy’s coverage network, a potential important benefit under the new Affordable Care Act.
Advocating For You After Your Injury